Christmas table runner, and charity quilt idea

IMG_0196I’ve been meaning to our guild’s once-a-month Wednesday sewing circle for years now. I finally made it this month, and it was really fun. A nice group of women, and a full day to sew!

Continuing on my quest to use up my stash, I decided to make a Christmas table runner out of some purple and gold fabrics I bought years ago at Fabricland in Bracebridge, but never got around to using. (The photo doesn’t do the fabric justice — it’s prettier than my iPhone camera shows.) I had searched my books and the Internet for a pattern, and finally ended up making up my own, suited to the extra-large dimensions of our 4’x8′ kitchen table.

IMG_0198Although I’m usually not this organized, I managed to get all the squares cut out ahead of time, so all I had to do at the sewing day was piece. The segments are all made up, and my plan is to make it a quilt-as-you-go, once I get the backing cut (I have some backing left from another quilt that I think will work).

While at the sewing circle, I was totally impressed by a woman named Nancy who made a charity quilt using nine-patches made from her scrap bin. Looks pretty nice, doesn’t it? I may have to try this technique myself.

Save

Leave a Reply

