Threadworks

Today, my friend Renske and I went to see the Threadworks exhibit at the Wellington County Museum.

There were some really interesting and creative pieces — but one piece in particular impressed me was a “hexagon journal”.

IMG_1226

It was almost like a crazy quilt. It’s called “A Journal Opens Windows on the Past: Threadplay 2015” by Patricia Menon of Fonthill. Here’s Renske admiring it. I also took some close up shots.

IMG_1227

It looks as though she made and embellished a hex for each day of the year. Some are grouped thematically, others seem to be a celebration of a particular fabric. It seems that each hex is individually sewn back and front, and there’s something stiff inside them to hold them rigid.

Cool, isn’t it? I think it would be fun to make one… you know, when I have all my million and one other projects finished!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

