I-spy disappearing 9-patch

i-spy in progress.jpg

Today I attended a Smile Quilt bee with other women in my guild. Smile Quilts are quilts the women make to donate to the local hospital, to be donated to chronically ill children.

My friend Megan had given me a bag of scraps from an I-spy project she had completed, which was great because I only had a few suitable fabrics, myself.

As always, I turned to Pinterest for inspiration, and found a link to a tutorial for a disappearing nine-patch I-spy quilt. It’s super-easy to make! I had to resize the blocks to suit the fabrics cuts I already had, but that was straight-forward. In a couple of places, my novelty fabric wasn’t quite big enough… but I simply pieced another appropriately-coloured scrap onto the novelty fabric, and it looks just fine.

In this picture, I’m just laying out the blocks as I make them… later, I will have to  decided on an arrangement and get them all pieced. I’m excited about how quickly this has gone together, though! I will post a picture of the completed quilt top soon, along with the link to the original tutorial.

Edit: here’s the link to the original tutorial on Obsessively Stitching.

Save

Leave a Reply

