An unexpected Cthulhu hat

Have you heard of Cthulhu (cuh-THOO-loo)? Well, it’s a sort of octopus monster, created by a horror writer named Lovecraft, back in the early 1900’s. Cthulhu has experienced a resurgence in popularity in recent years, and my oldest son is really into Lovecraft lore and especially Cthulhu.

squid1So, when I saw a pattern for crocheting a Cthulhu hat, how could I resist? Shh, don’t tell! It’s a Christmas surprise. He doesn’t subscribe to this blog – I doubt he even knows I write it – so I’m pretty safe to post a couple of pictures. This first one shows the top of the hat – I’m just about to start the tentacle row. He wears glasses, so I wanted to ensure the hat would fit over his glasses. And my hand is showing where the tentacles will go…

squid2.JPGThe original pattern is available for free online at Ravelry, created by Amy Hitchcock – and there’s even a YouTube video, if you are unsure about some of the steps. I did, however, make some modifications for my hat. In Amy’s pattern, there is only one row of tentacles, and they go all the way around the entire at. To make mine more Cthulhu-like, I added tentacles only in the front, and after I’d created one tentacle row, I worked backward and attached another six, shorter tentacles to the stitches above the main tentacle row. If that makes sense. Here, I’m making sure I’m happy with the tentacles before I bind off.

squid3Finished product!

It actually worked up surprisingly fast. It looks more complicated than it is. I started it Sunday night after dinner – in fact, we went to Walmart after dinner to buy the yarn to make it, and I crocheted down to the eyebrows before bed. The next morning I did the eye openings, and I made the tentacles in the afternoon before dinner.

It was fun to make. I haven’t crocheted in a while, and it was nice to get back to it. It’s a nice break from sewing. Not that I’m procrastinating about my sewing projects or anything. No, not at all. It’s just that an unexpected Cthulhu hat-making session popped up!

 

Leave a Reply

