Finished a quick hat

IMG_2286.jpgOkay, this is not sewing… but I managed to finish a quick crocheted beanie for my husband. He was complaining about having too many things that are black or grey, and not enough colour in his wardrobe. So when I found some marmalade-coloured yarn in one of our stash bins, I decided to make him a hat. It was just single-crochets around and around until it was big enough to wear… I was able to finish off the last rows while at the Modern Quilt Guild potluck on Thursday night.

Elaine's hidden code revealWhich does let me segue back to quilting! I wanted to show you a couple of pictures I took of the group’s travelling quilt reveals. By the time I joined the guild last spring, several members were already exchanging travelling quilt projects and it was unfortunately too late to join in. I wish I had been able to, especially when I saw the completed blocks everyone got back! All the projects were neat – all very different. There were two in particular though that I would have loved to have taken home myself! The first was the travelling quilt belonging to Elaine. Her theme was “hidden code” and she started off her project by making a block that says “hello” in Morse code. Hers is the red and yellow block near the top left. The blocks she got back included a bar code, a QR code, Braille, the Japanese character for “colour”, and more! Really neat. I’m anxious to see what kind of quilt she turns this into!

Marilyn's reveal.jpgThe second one I especially liked belonged to Marilyn, whose theme was “Kandinsky”. She was the only person to receive back a fully assembled piece, not just individual blocks. And I really do think her project looks like it could be a work of Modern art! Very, very cool. What a creative group of women they are.

I admit I haven’t gotten much sewing done the last few days. I’m battling a cold, and don’t have much initiative, even though there are lots of things I need to get done before Christmas. I am supposed to attend my sewing circle potluck this coming week, so am planning to rest up today as well, in hopes of being back to rights in time for that.

Leave a Reply

