Charity quilt update

img_2340Before Christmas, my sewing circle group got started on a HST charity quilt project. This past Wednesday, I got to see the first completed top: the blocks were pieced together by group members Carol & Emily. Isn’t it looking great?

Another group member, Trudy, who is a long arm quilter, has offered to quilt it up for us. I’m excited to see the final project! I think this quilt will likely be donated to a local hospice.

img_2333Group member Jan has offered to pieced the second quilt top. Here are the blocks on my design wall last week. Most of the blocks were donated by the ladies in the group, and over the holiday break my friend Megan came over and between the two of us we made the few necessary extra blocks to finish it off (we tried to balance out the colours by adding a few more reds, oranges, and so on). When the top is finished, Megan has offered to quilt it (she is also a long armer).

There are still a few blocks left over — there were a some that weren’t the right colour for this second quilt. That’s okay. I’m game to get a third quilt going, and I’ve already had more blocks promised by a couple of guild members to help out with that. I’ll see what I get next month, then I can supplement as necessary from my stash.

So fun to see these come together!

 

Leave a Reply

