Rockin’ the blocks

Yes, I have made progress on my Balinese quilt, but I’m not posting about that today. Instead, I’m going to show a few pictures of individual blocks I’ve made/worked on lately.

So, last year I joined a modern guild in my area. I love it! It’s a small group, so hands-on activities are a little easier to manage. In the months before I joined, the group decided to do a round robin, where everyone started with a block they had made themselves and a tin of fabric — then the tins were circulated through the group, so each month members added a new block to a different tin. It looked like so much fun, I wish I had joined a little earlier so I could have had a chance to join in.

At our December meeting, the participants had their big reveal. Some really cool projects came out of those tins! But due to some mix up, one quilter got fewer blocks than expected. I think her tin was misplaced. However, since then, another participant and I both offered to make her an extra block, so now she should have a full return. Her theme was “Wonky Log Cabin” in black, grey, red fabrics. Here’s the block I made for her:

travelling quilt block

Now, a wonky log cabin usually means that the “logs” are uneven, cut on angles, etc. I didn’t do that. I hope she doesn’t mind! I’ve got this thing about using little pieces, so I made my block wonky by doing some improv piecing in the logs. I thought it would make the block unique – and hopefully in a good way. Oh well, if she hates it, she can always use it on the back!

I also noticed that there was one very small block already made in the tin. I decided to add to it, whilst it was in my possession – because the rules say that you can add to other blocks if you want to! So here’s that block:

block I added to.jpg

Originally, it was the red centre, with the grey and white fabrics around it. I added the red/white, and black/grey rounds. This one is a more typical wonky log cabin. I let her know that I was finished with her tin, and she is stopping by this afternoon to pick it up – fingers crossed that my additions are good surprises for her!

Now, in the modern guild, the one requirement is that every person participates actively in the guild. That has turned out to be no problem from me, because I’m the sort of person who has a hard time sitting on my hands when I get an idea or see something that could be done. One thing I noticed, in looking at other websites, was that other modern guilds often do block lotteries – so I decided to organize one in our guild.

The February meeting was our first opportunity for a block lotto. I sent out the pattern in advance (Wonky Star), and anyone who wanted to participate made one (or more) blocks. Each block entered in the lotto translated into one ballet, so if a participant made 5 blocks, she got five ballots. Here’s a picture of most of the stars for that lotto (I took another, final photo of all the stars, but it turned out blurry).

Feb 2017 block lottery.jpgMy two stars are in the second column from the right, the second and third stars from the top – one has a green centre, the other has green tips. I think it was a pretty cool collection. I didn’t win – truthfully, I didn’t even put in a ballot for myself. I didn’t think it would be fun for others if I, the organizer, won the first lottery! I may enter in future, though.

I’ve already tested the pattern for the March block lotto. It was suggested by another guild member, and the pattern is called Tic Tac Toe.

Mar 2017 lotto block - tic tac toe.jpg

What do you think of the orange and pink? I thought it was really fun and funky, and cheerful for this dreary time of year. Unlike the wonky star, this pattern requires exact piecing: but I think it looks really cool, especially once you start putting blocks together.

Now, my idea is to keep trying different things – new techniques, different colour combos, etc. We’ve had two blocks in a row with solid white backgrounds, so now I’ll be trying to mix it up with something different. I hope others keep participating, because I can imagine having a lot of fun with this! Let’s see what I can come up with for April’s lotto…

Leave a Reply

